You Are Here: Skip Navigation LinksConference of American Armies: About the CAA: Home
Information About the Conference of American Armies

​About CAA

CAA Logo

The Conference of American Armies (CAA) was founded in 1960 as an Army Commanders International Organization in the Western Hemisphere. Today it operates independently under its own CAA by-laws approved by the all CAA member army commanders.

The twenty member armies of the CAA today are: Antigua & Barbuda, Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Paraguay, Peru, Trinidad & Tobago, United States, Uruguay and Venezuela. The five observer armies of the CAA are: Barbados, Belize, Guyana, Jamaica and Suriname. Two international military organizations also enjoy observer status: the Conference of Central American Armed Forces and the Inter-American Defense Board.